Lab.6 IITP RAS logo
11/12/19
12:36:58

Laboratory of Mathematic methods and models in bioinformatics,
Institute for Information Transmission Problems,
Russian Academy of Sciences

« back

Software for modeling of RNA polymerase competition

The software is intended for modeling of the competition of RNA polymerases which are transcribing genes in different DNA strands. This regulation mechanism occurs in plant and alga organelles eg. in plastids. With use of the software we obtained the results described in [1-4].

[1] V.A. Lyubetsky, L.I. Rubanov, A.V. Seliverstov. Competition of RNA polymerases which transcribe common locus in opposed directions // Congress of geneticists and breeders on the occasion of Darvin's 200th anniversary and Fifth Congress of Vavilov society of geneticists and breeders, 2009, June 21-27, Moscow, Part II, p. 68. (in Russian)
[2] O.A. Zverkov, A.V. Seliverstov, L.I. Rubanov, V.A. Lyubetsky. Modeling of RNA polymerases competition: influence of the sigma subunit knockout and of the temperature on genes expression // "Information Technologies and Systems": Proc. of Conf. ITaS'32, Bekasovo (Moscow Region), December 15-18, 2009, p. 328-331. (in Russian)
[3] Lyubetsky V.A., Zverkov O.A., Rubanov L.I., Seliverstov A.V. Modeling RNA polymerase competition: the effect of sigma-subunit knockout and heat shock on gene transcription level // Biology Direct, 2011, 6:3. http://www.biology-direct.com/content/6/1/3
[4] Lyubetsky V.A., Zverkov O.A., Pirogov S.A., Rubanov L.I., Seliverstov A.V. Modeling RNA polymerase interaction in mitochondria of chordates // Biology Direct, 2012, 7:26. http://www.biology-direct.com/content/7/1/26

The software is available in two flawors:
Rivals - the graphical application (Windows executable)
cpRivals - the portable command line utility for MPI-based multiprocessing (Windows binaries and Linux source code freely available under GNU GPL) GNU GPL V3

Both options inplement the same algorithm and use compatible data files, but differ in functions and performance. Rivals application is primarily for the source data files preparation, in-process monitoring and preliminary experiments. cpRivals utility is intended for mass processing on high-performance clusters.

Starting from version 1.5.x.x, both programs provide direct support of circular gene sequences and dynamic modification of parameters within a model trajectory. Starting from version 1.5.3.x, the programs' performance dramatically increase.

Downloadable files

  32-bit 64-bit
  Readme
User's Manual (pdf) - in Russian 2.0
Rivals executable for Windows with .NET 2.0 1.5.3.3 ---
cpRivals executables for Windows without MPI 1.5.3.3 1.5.3.3
cpRivals executables for Windows with MPICH2 1.4.1p installed 1.5.3.3 1.5.3.3
Microsoft VC++ redistributable libraries 9.0.30729.4148 9.0.30729.4148
MPICH2 implementation of the MPI-2 standard for Windows (by Argonne National Laboratory) 1.4.1p1 1.4.1p1
cpRivals source code for Linux - GNU GPL V3 1.5.3.3a
« back

Lab.6 IITP RAS logo
13/12/18
02:19:27

Лаборатория математических методов и моделей в биоинформатике
Института проблем передачи информации им. А.А. Харкевича
Российской академии наук

« back

Программа моделирования конкуренции РНК-полимераз

Программа предназначена для моделирования конкуренции РНК-полимераз, транскрибирующих гены на разных цепях ДНК. Этот механизм регуляции встречается в органеллах растений и водорослей, например, в пластидах. С помощью программы были получены результаты, изложенные в [1-4].

[1] В.А. Любецкий, Л.И. Рубанов, А.В. Селиверстов. Конкуренция РНК-полимераз, транскрибирующих общий локус в противоположных направлениях // Съезд генетиков и селекционеров, посвященный 200-летию со дня рождения Ч. Дарвина и V Съезд вавиловского общества генетиков и селекционеров, 2009, 21-27 июня, Москва, часть II, с. 68.
[2] О.А. Зверков, А.В. Селиверстов, Л.И. Рубанов, В.А. Любецкий. Моделирование конкуренции РНК-полимераз: влияние нокаута сигма субъединицы и температуры на экспрессию генов // «Информационные технологии и системы»: Труды конференции ИТиС 32, Бекасово, 15 - 18 декабря 2009 г., с. 328-331.
[3] Lyubetsky V.A., Zverkov O.A., Rubanov L.I., Seliverstov A.V. Modeling RNA polymerase competition: the effect of sigma-subunit knockout and heat shock on gene transcription level // Biology Direct, 2011, 6:3. http://www.biology-direct.com/content/6/1/3
[4] Lyubetsky V.A., Zverkov O.A., Pirogov S.A., Rubanov L.I., Seliverstov A.V. Modeling RNA polymerase interaction in mitochondria of chordates // Biology Direct, 2012, 7:26. http://www.biology-direct.com/content/7/1/26

Имеется два варианта программы:
Rivals - графическое приложение (исполняемый модуль для Windows)
cpRivals - переносимая программа с интерфейсом командной строки для мультипроцессорной системы с MPI (исполняемые модули для Windows 32/64 бит и исходные тексты, свободно распространяемые на условиях лицензии GNU GPL) GNU GPL V3

Оба варианта реализуют одинаковый алгоритм и совместимы по файлам исходных данных, но различаются по быстродействию и функциональным возможностям. Программа Rivals предназначена в основном для подготовки файлов с исходными данными, интерактивного мониторинга работы модели и проведения пробных экспериментов. Программа cpRivals предназначена для массовых расчетов, в том числе с использованием высокопроизводительных кластеров.

Начиная с версии 1.5.x.x, оба варианта программы могут работать с кольцевыми последовательностями ДНК и поддерживается изменение параметров в ходе траектории модели. Начиная с версии 1.5.3.x, быстродействие программы существенно повышено по сравнению с прежними версиями.

Файлы для загрузки

  32 bit 64 bit
Описание программы (pdf) 2.0
Исполняемый модуль Rivals для Windows с .NET 2.0 1.5.3.3 ---
Исполняемые модули cpRivals для Windows без MPI 1.5.3.3 1.5.3.3
Исполняемые модули cpRivals для Windows с MPICH2 1.4.1p 1.5.3.3 1.5.3.3
Свободно распространяемые библиотеки Microsoft для работы программ 9.0.30729.4148 9.0.30729.4148
MPICH2 - реализация MPI-2 для Windows (Argonne National Laboratory) 1.4.1p1 1.4.1p1
Исходный код cpRivals для Linux - GNU GPL V3 1.5.3.3a
« back