Lab.6 IITP RAS logo
29/09/16
15:50:58

Laboratory of Mathematic methods and models in bioinformatics,
Institute for Information Transmission Problems,
Russian Academy of Sciences

« back

Finding of Multi-Box Regulatory Signal in the Set of Unaligned Sequences

V. Lyubetsky, L. Rubanov

Annotation

In the "Program description" we present an original fast algorithm for local multiple alignment of sequences. Such alignments usually lead to several sites in each source sequence, and the sites correspond to different local alignments of approximately the same quality. In "An application example" and TwoBox distribution we provide several examples of the local alignement found by our algorithm. The optimal local alignment is usually found on the basis of calculating a quality which is a sum of pairwise likenesses for all constituent sites. Our algorithm is based on an idea of the sum calculation only for some constituent sites selected by special procedure of random choice.

An application example

Program description (PDF)

TwoBox distribution

MPICH2 V1.2 libraries & executables


———

General information

The program TwoBox V3.17 is developed for finding a system of similar sites in the set of given sequences. One site (or none) is chosen from each sequence, and those sites should be as close as possible to each other. The program primarily tries to find sites in all sequences, but it also may reject few sequences if such system is better in terms of the functionals used.

The sought-for sites can consist of a single box, or of multiple boxes spaced by linkers of the length which is fixed or varies within the given interval. The lengths of the boxes and intervals may be specified independently of each other. The current version 3.17 supports only sites consisting of one or two boxes, though the same algorithm can also be generalized for greater number of boxes in the site.

In addition, the program allows a user to search for signal in presence of known data about conserved positions within a box. Such data may be submitted in the form of a 'motif' for a box (or boxes). Detailed information about input data and arguments of the program can be found in the program documentation.

The program TwoBox implements an elaboration of previously developed algorithm for finding one-box regulatory signal [1-3] by global optimization of predefined functional of the signal quality. The result is a quasi-optimal solution with the greatest value of the functional reached during the search, which is limited by internal criteria or/and duration or/and number of the algorithm steps.

Due to computational complexity of the algorithm (that grows as the number of boxes increase), the program TwoBox from the very beginning was intended for parallel cluster with intra-processor communications via MPI. Any number of processors will do; the program can busy all CPU available, and calculation time will decrease approximately s-1 times, where s is the number of CPUs. At least two logical processors are required, therefore, the program is capable of working on typical dual-core PC.

The program is provided as an executable for x86 architecture. It is intended for a cluster consisting of several PCs with Windows, interconnected by TCP/IP LAN. The MPI environment is to be established with use of the public domain software MPICH2 v.1.2 (by Argonne National Laboratory). This product (or later version of it) have to be installed at all computers of the cluster. (If it is undesirable to install MPICH2 at the computer, the user can copy mpich2 libraries into the program folder. However, we cannot guarantee operation and functionality of the program in such case.) See the program documentation for additional details.

TwoBox uses a command line interface; it has to be run from a command shell of the operating system. The programming language is С, the compiler is Microsoft Visual Studio 2005 Service Pack 1, name of the executable - twobox.exe. Target CPU is Intel 32-bit. The operating systems tested were Microsoft Windows XP Service Pack 3 and Microsoft Windows Server 2003 Service Pack 2. Using TwoBox on other processors and/or operating systems is possible, but may require to re-compile the program or to carry out additional testing.

Software developer: Dr. L.I. Rubanov, leading scientist, IITP RAS (Kharkevich Institute)
E-mail: rubanov@iitp.ru

References

  1. Danilova L.V., Gorbunov K.U., Gelfand M.S., Lyubetsky V.A. Algorithm of regulatory signal recognition in DNA sequences (2) // Molecular Biology, 2001, V. 35, No. 6, p. 841-848.
  2. S.N. Istomina, L.I. Rubanov. Parallel algorithm of regulatory signal search in bacterial genomes // Information Processes, 2002, V. 2, No 1, p. 85-90 (in Russian)
    http://www.jip.ru/2002/Isto.pdf
  3. L.V. Danilova, V.A. Lyubetsky, M.S. Gelfand. An algorithm for identification of regulatory signals in unaligned DNA sequences, its testing and parallel implementation. In Silico Biology, 2003. In Silico Biology, V. 3, No 1,2, 2003, p. 33-47.
    http://www.bioinfo.de/isb/2003/03/0004/
« back

Lab.6 IITP RAS logo
13/12/18
02:19:30

Лаборатория математических методов и моделей в биоинформатике
Института проблем передачи информации им. А.А. Харкевича
Российской академии наук

« back

Поиск мультибоксового регуляторного сигнала в наборе невыравненных последовательностей

Общие сведения

Программа TwoBox (версия 3.17) предназначена для поиска по набору входных последовательностей системы наиболее похожих сайтов заданной длины, когда из каждой последовательности выбирается не более одного сайта. Программа стремится в первую очередь выбирать по одному сайту из каждой последовательности, но может и исключать некоторые последовательности из поиска, если такое решение оказывается лучшим в смысле используемых функционалов качества.

Разыскиваемые сайты могут быть представлены одним боксом (т.е. непрерывным участком исходной последовательности), либо состоять из нескольких боксов, находящихся на фиксированном расстоянии друг от друга или на любом расстоянии в пределах заданного интервала. Длина каждого бокса задается независимо. Текущая версия 3.17 обеспечивает поиск одно- и двухбоксовых сайтов, хотя примененный алгоритм можно обобщить и на большее число боксов.

Предусмотрена также возможность поиска сигнала с учетом априорной информации о всех или некоторых позициях одного или более боксов. Эта известная информация задается в форме "мотива" бокса. Подробная информация о входных данных и параметрах приводится в описании программы.

Программа TwoBox представляет собой развитие ранее запрограммированного алгоритма поиска однобоксового регуляторного сигнала [1-3] методом глобальной оптимизации заданного функционала качества. В результате находится квазиоптимальное решение задачи, соответствующее максимальному значению функционала по всем локальным экстремумам, достигнутым в ходе поиска, ограничиваемого по ряду внутренних критериев алгоритма, либо по времени или по числу итераций алгоритма.

Учитывая вычислительную трудоемкость алгоритма (которая дополнительно возрастает с увеличением числа боксов), программа TwoBox изначально ориентирована на параллельную вычислительную установку, в которой межпроцессорный обмен информацией реализуется средствами протокола MPI. Число процессоров кластера не регламентируется; программа в состоянии задействовать все доступные процессоры, при этом общее время счета снижается за счет распараллеливания приблизительно в s-1 раз, где s - число процессоров. Минимальное число процессоров - два, так что программа в состоянии работать и на типичном современном компьютере с двухядерным процессором.

Представленная версия программы (исполняемый модуль архитектуры х86) предназначена для проведения расчетов на кластере из одного и более IBM-совместимых ПК с операционной системой Windows, связанных по локальной сети TCP/IP. Среда MPI организуется с помощью свободно распространяемого продукта MPICH2 v.1.2 (разработчик - Argonne National Laboratory). Для работы с программой этот продукт (или его последующая версия) должен быть установлен на используемые компьютеры. (Если это по какой-то причине нежелательно, или проводится лишь начальное ознакомление с программой, можно, не устанавливая сам продукт, скопировать в папку программы необходимые библиотеки, хотя в этом случае работоспособность не гарантируется. Подробнее см. описание программы).

Программа имеет интерфейс командной строки и рассчитана на запуск в среде командного процессора операционной системы. Язык программирования - С, компилятор Microsoft Visual Studio 2005 Service Pack 1, имя исполняемого модуля - twobox.exe. Целевой процессор - Intel 32-битной архитектуры. Целевые операционные системы - Microsoft Windows XP Service Pack 3, Microsoft Windows Server 2003 Service Pack 2. Использование программы TwoBox на других типах процессоров и операционных систем возможно, но может потребовать дополнительного тестирования и/или перекомпиляции.

Разработчик программы: Л.И. Рубанов, в.н.с. ИППИ РАН им. А.А. Харкевича
Контактный e-mail: rubanov@iitp.ru

Литература

  1. Данилова Л.В., Горбунов К.Ю., Гельфанд М.С., Любецкий В.А. Алгоритм выделения регуляторных сигналов в последовательностях ДНК (2) // Молекулярная биология, 2001, том 35, № 6, стр. 987-995.
  2. С.Н. Истомина, Л.И. Рубанов. Параллельный алгоритм поиска регуляторного сигнала в геномах бактерий // Информационные процессы, 2002, т. 2, № 1, с. 85-90.
    http://www.jip.ru/2002/Isto.pdf
  3. L.V. Danilova, V.A. Lyubetsky, M.S. Gelfand. An algorithm for identification of regulatory signals in unaligned DNA sequences, its testing and parallel implementation. In Silico Biology, 2003. In Silico Biology, V. 3, No 1,2, 2003, p. 33-47.
    http://www.bioinfo.de/isb/2003/03/0004/

Описание программы в формате PDF

Дистрибутив программы

Библиотеки и исполняемые модули пакета MPICH2 V1.2 « back