Lab.6 IITP RAS logo
13/12/18
02:45:00

Laboratory of Mathematic methods and models in bioinformatics,
Institute for Information Transmission Problems,
Russian Academy of Sciences

« back

Program for phylogenetic study of joint evolution of species and genes

The program Embed3GL is intended for solving four phylogenetic problems on the basis of original algorithm [1-4] of polynomial (cubic) complexity. Common source data for the first three problems include:

- rooted species tree, initially a binary one, which is then provided with additional nodes to divide the tree into contemporary slices so that all leaves (extant species) are in the same (deepest) slice. The number af additional nodes on an edge is specified as a "length" of that edge: if the length equals 1 or omitted, no nodes are added; otherwise, the length e.g. 2 indicates that one node is added on that edge, etc. The tree must contain an outgroup, a "species" named Out. The independent program (see below link) can be applied for the species tree time-slicing and insertion the outgroup.

- a set of rooted gene trees, which may not contain polytomous nodes in the current version.

Detailed structure of input/output data is described in the manual.

Problem 1 involves, for each gene tree, the cost computation of this tree embedding into the species tree. The cost value is provided for each gene tree of the input set as well as total over the set. A side effect of the Problem 1 solution is the binarization (binary resolution) of a gene tree if it contains polytomous nodes (not implemented in current version).

Problem 2 is solved on the basis of working data obtained from Problem 1. As a result, for each gene tree, the evolutionary scenario of its embedding into the species tree is built. The scenario is shaped as a tree of evolutionary events that contains both unary and binary edges.

Problem 3 can be solved after binary resolution of input gene trees. Additional user-specified data are required for this problem, namely:
(1) I-type - a fixed set of types of evolutionary events (e.g. loss, gain, duplication, transfer, etc.); and
(2) T-type - a set of gene tree nodes, whose all descendant leaves are specially labeled in one or multiple gene trees (e.g. "a set of ancestors of ribosomal genes").
The Problem 3 output are two functions in tabular form: f(I,x) - average number of I type events in the tube (=edge) x of the species tree; and g(I,T) - average number of I type events occurring for the edges of type T.

Starting from the current version, Embed3GL also provides for solving Problem 4, which is the building of a supertree that amalgamates given binary trees. Instead of gene trees, here Embed3GL uses a set of basis trees built with the program Basis3GL. This method of the supertree building is more precise than the algorithm implemented in Super3GL, but it is significantly slower. This is why we recommend to run Embed3GL on a high performance cluster if Problem 4 is to be solved.

The program embed3GL is written in C/C++ and has a command line interface. The program supports parallelization if an MPI 1.2 (or above) environment is available. The program is portable and can be compiled for Windows 32/64-bit, Linux, Unix, MacOS.

Windows executables (32/64-bit, non-MPI/MPI versions) and the source code for Linux can be freely downloaded from below links. The source code is available free of charge under the GNU General Public License (GPL) version 3.GNU GPL V3

Downloadable files

  Version without MPI Version for MPICH2 1.4.1p
Embed3GL executables for Windows 32bit 1.1.7 1.1.7
Embed3GL executables for Windows 64bit 1.1.7 1.1.7
Embed3GL user's manual (pdf) embed3gl_en
Embed3GL source code for Linux - GNU GPL V3 1.1.7
Windows executable for time-slicing of a species tree time_slices

References

1. Lyubetsky V.A., Rubanov L.I., Rusin L.Yu., Gorbunov K.Yu. "Cubic time algorithms of amalgamating gene trees and building evolutionary scenarios", Biology Direct, 2012, 7:48

2. Gorbunov,K.Yu. and Lyubetsky,V.A. (2009) Reconstructing the evolution of genes along the species tree. Mol. Biol. (Mosk)., 43(5), 881-893.

3. Gorbunov,K.Yu. and Lyubetsky,V.A. (2010) An algorithm of reconciliation of gene and species trees and inferring gene duplications, losses and horizontal transfers. Information Processes, 10(2), 140-144, in Russian.

4. Gorbunov,K.Yu. and Lyubetsky,V.A. (2011) The tree nearest on average to a given set of trees. Problems of Information Transmission, 47(3), 274Ц288.

« back

Lab.6 IITP RAS logo
13/12/18
03:28:45

Лаборатория математических методов и моделей в биоинформатике
Института проблем передачи информации им. А.А. Харкевича
Российской академии наук

« back

Программа для филогенетического исследования совместной эволюции генов и видов

Программа Embed3GL предназначена для решения четырех задач филогенетики и основана на оригинальном алгоритме [1-4] полиномиальной (кубической) сложности. Общие для первых трех задач исходные данные включают в себя:

- корневое дерево видов, изначально двоичное, с добавленными затем дополнительными вершинами, разбивающими дерево на временные слои, так что все листья (современные виды) находятся в одном слое. Количество добавляемых дополнительных вершин указывается в форме длины соответствующего ребра дерева видов: если длина 1 или не указана, то вершины не добавляются; длина 2 означает, что на ребре имеется одна дополнительная вершина, и т.д. Дерево должно содержать аутгруппу (с именем "вида" Out). Для разбивки дерева на временные слои и добавления аутгруппы (при необходимости) может использоваться отдельная программа (см. ссылку ниже).

- набор корневых деревьев генов (в текущей версии политомические вершины не допускаются).

Подробнее структура исходных данных описана в руководстве к программе.

Задача 1 состоит в вычислении для каждого дерева генов цены его вложения в дерево видов. Задача решается для всех деревьев генов исходного набора; выдается значение цены для каждого дерева и суммарное по всему набору. Побочный эффект решения Задачи 1 состоит в бинаризации (двоичном разрешении) дерева генов, если оно было политомическим (в текущей версии не реализовано).

Задача 2 решается на базе результатов и промежуточных данных, полученных в Задаче 1. В результате отдельно для каждого дерева генов строится сценарий его вложения в общее дерево видов. Сценарий имеет вид дерева событий, содержащего как одинарные, так и биребра.

Задача 3 решается после бинаризации исходного набора деревьев генов и использует задаваемые пользователем дополнительные данные двоякого рода:
(1) I-тип - фиксированное множество типов эволюционных событий (например, потери, возникновения, дупликации, переносы);
(2) T-тип - множество вершин деревьев генов, у которых все листья-потомки помечены определенным образом в одном или нескольких деревьях генов (например, "множество предков рибосомных генов").
Результатом решения Задачи 3 являются представленные в табличной форме две функции: f(I,x) - матожидание числа событий типа I в трубе (ребре) x дерева видов, и g(I,T) - матожидание числа событий типа I, происшедших с ребрами типа T.

Начиная с текущей версии, программа Embed3GL также обеспечивает решение Задачи 4 - построения супердерева (видов), согласующего набор исходных двоичных деревьев, в качестве которых используются базисные деревья, полученные программой Basis3GL. Такой метод сборки супердерева, основанный на суммарной цене вложения, точнее приближенного алгоритма, реализованного в программе Super3GL, но значительно медленнее. По этой причине рекомендуется при решении Задачи 4 запускать программу в параллельном режиме на высокопроизводительном кластере.

Программа Embed3GL написана на C/С++ и имеет интерфейс командной строки. Программа допускает распараллеливание в среде MPI версии 1.2 и выше. Текст программы переносим, и после соответствующей перекомпиляции может использоваться в среде ОС Windows 32/64-bit, Linux, Unix, MacOS.

Исполняемые модули программы для Windows (32- и 64-битная версии) и исходный код для Linux (одно- и мультипроцессорный варианты) можно загрузить по ссылкам ниже. Исходный код программы предоставляется бесплатно на условиях лицензии GNU General Public License (GPL) версии 3.GNU GPL V3

Файлы для загрузки

  Вариант без MPI Вариант с MPICH2 1.4.1p
Исполняемый модуль Embed3GL для Windows 32bit 1.1.7 1.1.7
Исполняемый модуль Embed3GL для Windows 64bit 1.1.7 1.1.7
Описание программы Embed3GL (pdf) embed3gl_ru
Исходный код Embed3GL для Linux - GNU GPL V3 1.1.7
Программа для разбивки дерева видов на временные слои Исполняемый модуль для Windows

Литература

1. Lyubetsky V.A., Rubanov L.I., Rusin L.Yu., Gorbunov K.Yu. "Cubic time algorithms of amalgamating gene trees and building evolutionary scenarios", Biology Direct, 2012, 7:48

2. К.Ю. Горбунов, В.А. Любецкий «Реконструкция эволюции генов вдоль дерева видов», Молекулярная биология, 2009, том 43, № 5, стр. 946–958

3. К.Ю. Горбунов, В.А. Любецкий «Об одном алгоритме согласования деревьев генов и видов с учетом дупликаций, потерь и горизонтальных переносов генов», Информационные процессы, 2010, том 10, № 2, стр. 140–144

4. К.Ю. Горбунов, В.А. Любецкий «Дерево, ближайшее в среднем к данному набору деревьев», Проблемы передачи информации, 2011, том 47, вып. 3, стр. 64–79

« back